DIY Wine Bottle Candlesticks

As a college student and someone who has lived in 6 (maybe 7?) different places in the last 5 years, it is hard to decorate with all of the mixed match/temporary furniture. But I have decided to start trying some DIY projects and chose to start with wine bottle candlesticks.

I stumbled across the photo above and knew then that I definitely had to do this…I just love how simple and beautiful (and interchangeable) this centerpiece is! So I began by looking for old bottles at vintage/thrift stores around Fayetteville and found out quickly that much to my demise I was probably just going to have to buy bottles of wine (slowly and surely) until I finish my collection (I figured I would need somewhere between 8-10 initially.)

Here is what I did:

1. I went to our local Sam’s club and bought two bottles of white wine since I wanted a clear bottle…

2. Next, I filled my bathtub with really hot water and some dish soap, let it sit for 25-30 minutes and then started scrubbing the labels off (it was surprisingly easy). After removing the labels there was still some sticky remnants left on the bottle but I was able to get it off pretty easily with a sponge. Here is what they looked like sans-labels along with a bottle I found under our kitchen sink…(aren’t our countertops awful?)

3. Next step was to put the candles into the bottle which was a little more tricky than I thought it would be. The candles were larger than the opening of the bottles so I had to use a knife to make them fit, but after a little trial and error I was able to make it work. I love the end result but I definitely need more bottles. Here are the pictures of my end results!

{that’s my golden retriever named Sugar in the back}

I ended up putting them next to my TV and since I am about to move (again) I will hopefully find a permanent home for them in a little better spot! Below are some pictures I found for inspiration!

{photos via pinterest}

Leave a Reply

  • Blog Stats

    • 5,267 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

